Connect with us


In Kerala, Muslim League Retains Malappuram Bypoll with over 1.7 lakh votes




Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) strongman P.K.Kunhalikutty, a former minister, won the Malappuram bypoll in Kerala on Monday by 171,038 lakh votes. He defeated the CPI(M)’s MB Faizal by an emphatic margin but failed to cross E Ahamad large margin of 1,94,000 votes in 2104. The bypoll was commanded after the death of sitting MP and IUML leader Ahamed. Earlier, it was mentioned that the golden era of BJP would begin when it has got chief ministers in every state and held power from panchayat to Parliament,

The Bharatiya Janata Party applicant N Sreeprakash came to a distant third garnering 65,662 votes. Left Democratic Front (LDF) and United Democratic Front (UDF) had criticized the saffron party vehemently covering beef ban, and cow vigilantism during their month-long campaign. Earlier Kunhalikutty developed out of his home as jubilant supporters shouted slogans and lifted him up.


CPI-M candidate M B Faisal originated at second spot with 3,44,307 votes, while the BJP’s Sree Prakash got 65,675 votes in the Malappuram bypolls.

“It is a victory of secular forces. In the present political climate, this success assumes much significance,” said Kunhalikutty, joining that he will work hard to float a platform of all secular forces. The upshot of the poll could well be the first indicator on how well the 10-month-old Pinarayi Vijayan government has functioned. CPI(M) state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan had said the bypoll would be a referendum on the government. The Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Sree Prakash arrived a distant third.

Click Here For Latest Technology News

With 5,15,330 votes, P K Kunhalikutty broke the report of late E Ahmad who won the 2014 Lok Sabha election with 4,37,723 votes. E Ahamed had won the 2014 Lok Sabha election with a record margin of 1.94 lakh votes. CPI-M candidate M B Faisal originated at second spot with 3,44,307 votes, while the BJP’s Sree Prakash got 65,675 votes in the Malappuram bypolls.

“The league played a dirty game to polarize votes on communal lines,” said frustrated candidate MB Faizal, adding that it was not a political victory. In Malappuram, Muslims constitute 65%, 30% Hindus and 5% Christians.

A seasoned politician Kunhalikutty (66) is known as the main trouble shooter of the Congress-led UDF. When the Congress and Muslim League ties vitiated on many occasions, including the post-Babri Masjid period, he played a crucial role in ironing out wrinkles and retained the materialistic face of the League intact. He inclined an MLA in 1982 and was conscripted into K Karunakaran cabinet at a young age in 1991. Later, he participated AK Antony and Oommen Chandy governments.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Would you like to receive notifications on latest updates? No Yes
You cannot copy content of this page