Gujarat Election 2017: BJP wins Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh | Congress in Unjha assembly


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has retained Gujarat, winning fewer seats than in 2012, and wrested Himachal Pradesh from the Congress. The BJP has seen a tough challenge from the Congress and managed a sixth win in the Gujarat assembly. It is a rare achievement for a political party anywhere in India outside West Bengal, but the Gujarat poll result suggests the Congress has been able to spring a surprise on the BJP in Unjha constituency that includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s hometown of Vadnagar.

The 2019 general elections are no longer a foregone conclusion and the BJP and the Congress will both have to innovate their election platforms.

Read also RK Nagar by-election Candidates List 2017 | AIADMK, DMK, BJP and Other Parties

Gujarat Election 2017: BJP wins Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh

The Congress candidate Asha Patel has defeated, by a wide margin, sitting BJP lawmaker Narayanbhai Lalludas Patel, 74, who hadn’t lost an election from this BJP bastion in more than two decades.

According to the poll body’s Gujarat poll result, Asha Patel had a lead of approximately 19,000 over her BJP rival with 81,797 votes who polled 62,268 votes, Mr Narayanbhai Lalludas Patel’s vote share in the Gujarat polls result was less than what he had secured in the 2012 assembly elections.

Gujarat Election 2017: BJP wins Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh

Prized win for Congress

Congress has won the majority seats in Unjha assembly which is near to Vadnagar. PM Narendra Modi‘s connection to the Unjha assembly seat, particularly Vadnagar, particularly given how PM Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi had made it a point to cover this seat on their campaign trail.

Congress has won the majority seats in Unjha assembly which is near to Vadnagar.

Newly elected Congress President Rahul Gandhi had extensively campaigned in Unjha during his Navsarjan Yatra and prayed at the Umiya Mata temple, close to the PM  Modi’s hometown Vadnagar. He was back in Vadnagar days before polling.

In 2012, the BJP won 119 seats in the 182-member Assembly, while the Congress won 57.

Click here for More Election Updates


A Mechanical Engineer by education but a content writer by passion. He has been in the field of Content Writing and Marketing for four years. He loves to write in a wide range of genres. Contact me at newsbugzofficial@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*

Published by

Recent Posts

Vumoo: Watch Latest Movies and Web Series Online For Free

Vumoo is an illegal website that allows users to watch the latest Hollywood movies and…

10 hours ago

Ajay Krishna Wiki, Biography, Age, Family, Wife, Images

Ajay Krishna is a playback singer who is best known for his works in the…

11 hours ago

Sneha Paul Wiki, Biography, Age, Web Series, Movies, Images

Sneha Paul is a popular actress known for her performance in Hotstar's The City and…

12 hours ago

Sofia Crisafulli Wiki, Biography, Age, Family, Facts, Images

Sofia Crisafulli is an Italian social media personality with a huge fan base. Her TikTok…

12 hours ago

Jillisa Lynn Wiki, Biography, Age, Family, Movies, Series, Images

Jillisa Lynn is a model, actor, singer, dancer, influencer, and producer from the United States.…

13 hours ago

Watch Avrodh Season 2 Episodes Online on Sony LIV

Avrodh Season 2 Online (2022): Sony LIV returns with a new season of action-thriller series…

15 hours ago