in , , ,

GSAT – 09 Launch | “Historic Occasion”, Says the PM

GSAT - 09 Launch

GSAT – 09 Launch: The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV-F09) carrying the “South Asia” satellite or the GSAT – 09 took off at 4:57 pm today (05/05/2017). Built by the ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation), the rocket started off from the second launch pad located at the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at the Sriharikota.

The satellite which costs around Rs 235 crore, is meant for rendering communication and disaster support, connectivity among the countries of the South Asia region. Its mission life will span about 12 years. This is India’s 11th GSLV launch and its 4thconsecutive flight using an indigenous Cryogenic engine powering the upper stage.

GSAT - 09 Launch
GSLV-F09 carrying the “South Asia” satellite or the GSAT – 09

Tweets by Modi on the GSAT – 09 Launch:

Here are the tweets from the Honorable Prime Minister on the successful launch of the Satellite.

The Highlights:

  • A 28-hour countdown for the rocket launch began at 12:57 pm on Thursday.
  • Seven of the eight participating Saarc countries include India, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Maldives. Pakistan has opted out saying it has its “own space program.”
  • Standing 49 meters tall and weighing about 450 ton, the GSLV is a three stage rocket. The first stage is fired with the solid fuel, the second with the liquid fuel and the third contains the cryogenic engine.
  • The satellite has about 12 Ku Band transponders — devices that help us in communication. Each nation will get access to at least one of the transponder. India said it is ready to help others with the ground infrastructure.
  • PM Modi had, after taking office in 2014, asked the scientists at ISRO to develop an SAARC satellite as a gift dedicated to neighboring countries.
  • Today’s launch is seen as the move to counter “China’s space diplomacy” in the region. China has helped Sri Lanka, and Pakistan launches the communication satellites.

Read Also Prime Minister’s visit to Kedarnath Temple

Written by Harish Kumar

I am the founder and Chief Editor of, Our goal is to provide the most entertaining content for our users. Contact me at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.